How to Handle Stress (5 Easy Tricks!)

Life gets pretty busy, you guys. As an actor with a day job and a marriage, I’ve got lots of (awesome) things vying for my time and attention. I love my life, but there are days when I resent my former self for choosing this path. Oh, 21-year-old Glynnis – you silly, stupid pony. WHY did you think that having 2 jobs at all times (one of which barely pays you anything) would be a good idea? What do you have to say for yourself, 21-year-old Glynnis??

Would YOU let her make major life decisions for you? Didn't think so.

That’s what I thought.

But you know what? Life is stressful no matter what you do, so you just have to roll with it and adapt. Through the years, I’ve developed some pretty excellent coping mechanisms, and I thought I’d share them with you guys because we’re all just “grown ups” trying to get through the day, right?

5 Ways of Handling Stress

  1. Chewing Gum. I used to bite my nails when I got stressed, but then I ran out of nails I realized that was a disgusting, childish habit, so I started chewing gum instead. The way I do it, I chew as much gum as I can at once, often a pack at a time. It’s not pretty, but I think focusing on not choking to death eases the stress of whatever else you’re worried about. One time I did this to work up the nerve to go talk to a guy, but I forgot to ditch the gum before going up to him. I’m sure it was terrifying. Needless to say, it didn’t work out.
  2. Rap and Hip Hop. I promise I’m not jumping on to the “Rachet Culture” bandwagon (don’t even get me STARTED on Miley), but I have always really enjoyed these genres of music. When I’m feeling sad or discouraged, it makes me feel better to listen to Childish Gambino or Macklemore or Drake. The music makes me feel motivated and capable. There was one time when my love of rap music did NOT help me very much. I was at a dance in high school and was actually socializing/hanging out with some popular girls (this did not really happen too often). It was going well but then “Party Up” by DMX came on. Before I could stop myself, I was aggressively singing all of the words in the faces of anyone near me and dancing wildly with finger guns blazing. It wasn’t until the song was over that I realized that nobody had joined in and that the popular girls were gaping at me. In case you need help remembering how bad that song is:
  3. Coloring. This one seems silly, but it’s a great stress reliever. I’m never without a coloring book and a trusty 64 pack of Crayolas. There is something soothing about coloring in the lines and making something pretty. On a completely unrelated note, this blog post is brought to you by Crayola! (Just kidding. But seriously, Crayola, email me – let’s work something out.)
    Crayons
  4. Television. I know this is not a ground breaking idea (and I think it might actually be escapism, not a legitimate way to deal with stress), but losing yourself in TV (good and bad) is a great way to set aside the stress in your life. I can’t count all the shows that have helped me through tough/busy times, but here’s a sampling:
    • The Nanny – this show made my 8AM classes in college bearable.
    • Dexter – started watching this one when I was a Barista – I think I enjoyed the kill scenes a little too much, but that’s what working in the service industry will do to you!
    • Buffy – this show makes everything better any time, any day. I don’t want to talk to you if you haven’t watched it.
    • Inspector Gadget – SOMETHING had to help me get through the hell that was Kindergarten.
      Trying to make a space
  5. Drinking. Hey – I never claimed to be a role model. Sometimes a nice, cold drink is just the thing to take the edge off. Be careful, though. If it becomes 5 nice, cold drinks you could end up using a construction site as a playground at one in the morning…hypothetically.Safety

Well, that’s all I’ve got, Kosbie fans. I’m sure it’s clear to you now why I’m such a successful, mature adult (and why I have TMJ/always smell like crayons). Leave any stress busters you’d care to share in the comments!

8 thoughts on “How to Handle Stress (5 Easy Tricks!)

  1. Bazooka Joe!! Cut the crap, Hamlet!! Also, when I’m stressed out, I sit on the floor and make noises at my dog to watch his reactions (which are ALWAYS hilarious).

  2. Coloring = always. But it becomes stressful if I color with others and they put the crayons back in the wrong place, or they’ve had a few too many ice, cold drinks, and they color a Little Mermaid picture outside the lines and make Sebastian too orange. **twitch**

    But also, grape soda and cooking! Or a long bike ride. (Claro que duh!)

  3. The alt texts on your pictures slayed me.

    Option 6? Willfully scheduling enough social plans so as to avoid facing any difficult choices or legitimate concerns. Wanna hang out soon, all the time?

  4. Not big on hip hop, but I do enjoy drinking, coloring, chewing gum (Orbit preferably), good television, and of course mindless movies, when I’m stressed. Speaking of Dexter, I just finished watching an episode. Have you been watching the final season and do you like it so far? I’m still not sure how I feel about it. I’ve found it uber depressing.

    • EVAN! I have so many emotions about Dexter. Deb is my favorite, so it’s killing me to see her like this, but at the same time, it’s the final season, so I know that things have to get bad/hit rock bottom. Mostly it stresses me out because I don’t know what’s going to happen, and I think they might just kill everyone. And of course I can’t stop watching.

Leave a Reply

