Script Doodles

Greetings! Today is the first day in forever that the only thing on my “to do” list is “blog.” It. Feels. Glorious. I’ve been burning the jets with work and Othello, so I’m pretty pooped. At the same time, the end of a show is always sad. Theatre is so fleeting! I always look through my script before I put it away and this time, in addition to notes, beat work and thoughts about my character, I found a lot of doodles. I thought it would be fun to catalog the doodles I made throughout the rehearsal process and see what they reveal about me. Here’s a list of my findings:

1. I love animals. I was not surprised to find animal doodles in my scripts, but I was shocked at the number of animals I doodled. They were, by far, the thing I doodled most. I mean, who do I think I am? Darwin? I guess the part of me that wanted to be dog for so long is still alive and kicking. It’s also interesting to see what kinds of animals I was drawing – almost NONE of them would have been around the rehearsal studio to inspire me, so apparently there is a parade of fantastical animals marching around my brain at all times (this explains a lot, actually). A sampling:

2. I am a method actress. Apparently, I was doodling in character sometimes:

3. I am a junk food maniac. This one is not surprising at all (I mean, come on – I blog about Fun Dip and cookie cakes), but still hilarious to see scrawled all over my script.

4. I am a weirdo. There’s no other explanation for/way to categorize the other doodles in my script like these:

Well, that’s all for today, folks! I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into the mind of a doodling genius! Tune in later this week for a new (more substantial) post!

7 thoughts on “Script Doodles

  1. Ok, so these were all fairly normal until the 3 turnips final offer one…what. the. hell. was that about? hahahaha. The donkey one wasn’t really weird, it was very Eeyore-esque. Though as someone who has spent copious amounts of time with you I can concur that yes, in fact, you are weird! ❤

Leave a Reply

